Upcoming Local Events

Here are some of the events taking place in the next couple of weeks:

  • Hugh MacDonald will be reading from his book of poetry, Cold Against the Heart and speaking about the craft of writing at Confederation Centre Public Library, Saturday, Sept. 6, 3 pm.  MacDonald’s poems sing of the Maritimes, and what it’s like to grow up by the sea. He writes about farming on Prince Edward Island, and the daily routine of making a living on the eastern seaboard.  A previous poet laureate of Prince Edward Island, Hugh MacDonald is well known as poet, editor and novelist, and a member of the PEIWG.
  • The PEI Literacy Alliance is proud to announce the launch a new children’s book, BORN! A Foal, Five Kittens, and Confederation, written by Deirdre Kessler, illustrated by Brenda Jones, and published by The Acorn Press, in partnership with PEI2014. The launch will take place at 3 p.m. on Thursday, August 28th, at the Confederation Centre Art Gallery. Bring the whole family to this free event. Refreshments will be served.

    Celebrate our collective history on August 28th. If you are unable to attend the launch, the book can be purchased online at www.peiliteracy.ca and at local bookstores, such as the independent bookstore, The Bookmark.

  • Ghislaine O’Hanley is co-ordinating PEI Culture Days this year, and is reaching out to PEIWG members as culture makers and connectors to encourage you to put in your thinking caps and create a free, open to the public and  interactive event that celebrates culture during the weekend of September 26-28th, 2014. Activities can be one-offs, collaborations, all weekend or just for an hour. You decide how best to celebrate culture – the idea is to show everyday Canadians what culture looks and feels like.  Who knows, you may already have an activity or event planned for that time. If you do, register and come under the culture days umbrella – the more activities the better!

    If you have a great idea, register it at www.culturedays.ca. This opens up a huge resource for you for marketing and promoting your event – all free. There will be additional swag that comes in to help promote your event on the day, as well as national and local ad campaigns to drive participation. If you don’t have a great idea, browse through some of the other provinces to see what kinds of things they are up to – it is very inspiring and could lead to a spark. If you still don’t have an idea, please help spread the word about Culture Days through your networks and encourage others to participate.

    There is a small pot of funds to assist people in hosting activities, should they require it. The application for support is on the Culture PEI website, www.culturepei.ca. It outlines the parameters for funding.

Other interesting information:

  • Now accepting submissions: Rebelight Publishing Inc. is a worldwide English language publisher based in Canada, devoted to outstanding fiction for middle grade, young adult, and new adult readers. We’re looking for fresh voices and amazing stories in any genre. Experienced Canadian authors and new writers welcome. Check out www.rebelight.com for more information and submission guidelines.


Self-Publishing Symposium: 16 August 2014, 9:00-5:00

The PEI Writers’ Guild, in partnership with the UPEI Department of English, are pleased to host a Self-Publishing Symposium in Charlottetown on August 16th from 9:00am to 5:00pm.

Join award-winning authors Patti Larsen, William Kowalski and decorated editor Annetta Ribken as they facilitate a day-long session on the business, mechanics and craft of self-publishing your own writing.

For more information, please visit our website:

Kowalski-Larsen-Ribken Self-Publishing Symposium

Date: Saturday, August 16th, 2014

  • Time: 9:00am – 5:00pm
  • Location: UPEI (Room TBD)
  • Cost: $90.00. The registration fee is reduced to $80 for members of the PEI Writers’ Guild and students at UPEI.
  • Lunch: Participants are responsible for bringing their own lunch, will be between 12:00pm – 1:00pm.
  • Bring: Paper and Pen
  • Coffee, tea and light snacks will be provided.


To book your seat, email: peiwritersguild @ gmail.com or call PEI Writers’ Guild at (902) 940-6441.

Tick-tock tick-tock

Only 13 days left to get your submissions in to the 2014 Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards. Contest ends 30 June 2014 at 4:00pm.

In addition to the adult awards, we have four categories for young people in the

Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People:

Students may write on the topic of their choice and submit in one of four sub-categories:

  • Early Elementary (Grades 1-3),
  • Late Elementary (Grades 4-6),
  • Junior High (Grades 7-9), and
  • Senior High (Grades 10-12).

A maximum of five pages of poetry, or a ten-page short story, will constitute an entry. Longer submissions will NOT be accepted. There is no entry fee. Cash prizes will be awarded in each sub-category of First, Second, and Third.

School Participation Award:

The school with the highest number of student submissions per capita will be recognized with a certificate and prize at the awards ceremony.

There is no entry fee for young people, so if you know any budding writers that would just love to win a prize, there’s still enough time!

Contest details and contest submission forms can be found and downloaded at www.peiwritersguild.com, click ILAs.

TWiG Buds are Sprouting: Book Launch and Fair

TWiG authors to hold book launch and fair

In celebration of winning the 2014 Prince Edward Island Book Award for Poetry for the anthology, A Gathering of Twigs, members of TWiG (The Writers in Group) are planning a book launch and fair for June 27 at the Haviland Club, beginning at 7 p.m. There will be readings from the anthology.

The event will open with ‘Poetry in Song’ featuring Charlottetown singer-songwriter Fraser McCallum.

Members will use this opportunity to launch Robert Mercer’s new book of poetry, The Lost Legend of Abigail in the Land of Green Gables.

Recently published books by Margaret Westlie (Mattie’s Story), Bruce McCallum (Memories of the Chukuni Lumber Company), Kathy Birt (Island Roots), andMargot Maddison-MacFadyen (When the Circus Comes to Town, ashort story) will also be featured.

Two books slated for publication in the near future, Robbin Mayem’s book of poetry and Roger Gordon’s memoir, will be previewed.

The evening of celebration will be held in the Haviland Club Lounge. There will be a cash bar. Snacks and other refreshments will be served.

There will be opportunities to meet TWiG writers and to purchase books. Everyone is welcome.

For additional information contact Bruce McCallum at 964-2297 or ensight@bellaliant.net