Island Literary Awards

The annual Island Literary Awards (ILAs) recognize the best in Island writing with cash awards from community sponsors in categories of fiction, poetry, children’s literature, and creative nonfiction, as well as unique prizes such as the long-established award for Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts of PEI, held by such notables as Orysia Dawydiak, Jane Ledwell, Deirdre Kessler, Richard Lemm, David Helwig, Hugh MacDonald, Dianne Hicks Morrow, and Brent MacLaine; the UPEI Réshard Gool Award for Creative Writing; and the Joseph Sherman Award, running since 2007 in memory of poet, editor and literary critic, Joe Sherman, and held by Matt Rainnie, Sally Cole, Peter and Nancy Richards, Lori Cheverie.

Yvette Doucette and John SmithMany ILA award winners go on to become published authors. The Island Literary Awards and the PEI Writers’ Guild play an important role in fostering the culture of writing on Prince Edward Island.

Student categories offer incentive for youths to explore their creativity and these awards are among the most enjoyable presentations in the ILA ceremony. There are no entry fees for students, and they can submit their works of poetry or short fiction, either through their school, by mail, or at any provincial library.

The PEI Public Library Service collaborates with the PEI Writers’ Guild (who administer the Island Literary Awards) to allow ILA submissions to be made at all local libraries across PEI.

3 thoughts on “Island Literary Awards

  1. Hi Jenna, I’ve just posted the results of the Island Literary Awards on our website and Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards FB page. Regards, Lee Ellen

Comments are closed.