32nd Annual Island Literary Awards Shortlist Announcement

Shortlist Announcements

The PEI Writers’ Guild is pleased to announce the shortlist for both the Cox & Palmer Literary Awards as well as the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People. Island writers will be recognized during award galas, which will take place Saturday, May 18 at the Rodd Charlottetown hotel.

During the Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards, adults will be recognized for excellence in Poetry, Creative Non-Fiction, Literature for Children, Short Story as well as Indigenous Writing. The gala will take place from 7-10 pm on Saturday, May 18 at the Rodd Charlottetown. The evening will be hosted by Island comedian Patrick Ledwell and will feature performances by local musicians.

Short-listed writers for adult categories are as follows:

The Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Literature for Children Award: Eric Leamont, Michael Wheeler, Samantha Desjardins Joyce, Valerie Vuillemot.

Poetry Award: Carter Bertram Clifford Smith, Emily Cann, M. Candace Hagen, Rick Sparkes.

Maritime Electric Short Story Award: Michael Pagé, Michelle Barton, Rick Sparkes, Ryan Gallant.

Creative Non-Fiction Award: Konrad Wendt, Mark Enman, Melanie Taylor.

Acorn Press Marie Coyoteblanc Indigenous Writing Award Novalea MacKinnon.

Youth will be honoured for their excellence in literary arts during the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People which will take place on Saturday, May 18 between 1:30-3pm at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel. Julie Pellisier-Lush, Poet Laureate of PEI, will host the award gala which will honour youth in Early Elementary, Late Elementary, Junior High and Senior High.

Short-listed writers for the youth categories are as follows:
Early Elementary: Andrew Jorritsma, Ben Bowman, Miguel Delgado-Keough.

Late Elementary: Habiba Laaroussi, Madeline MacRae, Mateo Delgado-Keough, Sheamus Herlihy.

Junior High: Isabel Beardsley, Lilly O’Rielly, Nicolas Dickieson, Noah Killorn.

Senior High:
Arielle Dunn, Darragh Clayton, Lily Campbell.
For over 30 years, the Island Literary Awards have recognized the best in Island writing by writers of all ages. Cash prizes are awarded to individuals who place first, second and third in both the adult and young people’s awards categories. Many past award winners are now published authors.

Tickets to both awards galas are free but seating is limited.

To book your free tickets for the Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards, please visit – https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/cox-palmer-island-literary-awards-tickets-61038557970

To book your free tickets for the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People, please visit – https://www.eventbrite.ca/e/the-rotary-club-of-charlottetown-royalty-creative-writing-awards-for-young-people-gala-tickets-61041228959

Please follow the Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards on Facebook (@IslandLiteraryAwards) or visit peiwritersguild.com for more information on both of these events.

The Prince Edward Island Writers’ Guild (PEIWG) is a dynamic organization dedicated to promoting the growth and quality of literary arts on PEI.

“Doing It” in Charlottetown: Writing Erotica

Kathleen HamiltonThe PEI Writers’ Guild and the English Department at UPEI invite Island writers to join Kathleen Hamilton for the Delta of Venus Workshop, an afternoon of writing erotica. Kathleen is the author of Sex After Baby: Why there is None, an award-winning playwright (Shameless Hussies, Blonde Moments), a screenwriter and a poet.

Taking place on Saturday, February 11 at the UPEI Faculty Lounge from 1:00 to 4:00 p.m,  in celebration of Valentine’s Day, and in the tradition of Anais Nin who wrote, “only the united beat of sex and heart together can create ecstasy,” this workshop will…

For more info, click: Is it getting hot in here?