And the 2015 Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards go to…

IMG_0134The Prince Edward Island Writers’ Guild is pleased to announce the winners of the 28th annual Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards.

The Island’s younger writers were honoured at the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People on the afternoon of September 19.

Early Elementary: 1st prize, Lillian Mallett (LM Montgomery); 2nd prize, Sebastian Kennedy (LM Montgomery); 3rd prize, Navija Siriwardane (Sherwood); honourable mentions, Joel Jason Farrell (LM Montgomery), Lauren Graham (West Kent). Late Elementary: 1st prize, Seth Dockendorff (homeschooled); 2nd prize, Eliza Dickie (Spring Park); 3rd prize, Lilly O’Rielly (West Kent); honourable mention, Lindsey Hood (Spring Park).

Junior Secondary: 1st prize, Chloe Dockendorff (homeschooled); 2nd prize, Jack Morse (Queen Charlotte); 3rd prize, Libby Douglas (Queen Charlotte); honourable mentions, Zoë Schaefer (Queen Charlotte), Amanda MacBain (Queen Charlotte). Senior Secondary: 1st prize, Emily McClean (Colonel Gray); 2nd prize, Kiera Mayhew (Charlottetown Rural); 3rd prize, Annie Compton (Bluefield); honourable mention, Kass Palter (Charlottetown Rural).

The School Participation Award for the most entries was given to Allison Giggy, who teaches at Queen Charlotte Intermediate School in Charlottetown.

The adult awards were presented at the gala ceremony the evening of September 19. Maritime Electric Short Story Awards: 1st prize, Olivia Robinson; 2nd prize, Tanya Nicolle MacCallum; 3rd prize, Margôt Maddison-MacFadyen; honourable mentions, Louise Burley, Sarah Glassford. Lucy Maud Montgomery* PEI Literature for Children Awards: 1st prize, Yvette Doucette; 2nd prize, Lindsay Gillis; 3rd prize, Christine Gordon-Manley; honourable mention, Suzanne Mills. (*L.M. Montgomery is a trademark of the Heirs of L.M. Montgomery Inc.)

Milton Acorn Poetry Award: 1st prize, Chris Bailey; 2nd prize, Yvette Doucette; 3rd prize, Michelle Barton; honourable mention, Sarah Glassford. Clary Pottie Creative Non-Fiction Award: 1st prize, Tanya Nicolle MacCallum; 2nd prize, Louise Burley; 3rd prize, Chris Bailey; honourable mention, Michael Conway.

This year’s Joseph Sherman Award for Special Contribution to the Literary Arts on Prince Edward Island was presented to Karen Mair, host of CBC Radio’s “Main Street.”

On behalf of Island writers, The PEI Writers’ Guild is grateful for the generous support of the prize sponsors and donors, especially Cox & Palmer and the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty, Maritime Electric, the heirs of LM Montgomery, and the families of Milton Acorn and Clary Pottie.

Full list of sponsors, partners, donors, and volunteers (in no particular order):

Cox & Palmer, Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty; *Heirs of L.M. Montgomery; Maritime Electric; Clary Pottie Family; Acorn Family; City of Charlottetown; Department of Education, Early Learning and Culture; The Investors Group; The Guardian; P.E.I. Teacher’s Federation; The Buzz; Provincial Credit Union; Ooka Island Inc.; Home Hardware Charlottetown; KKP Charlottetown; The Acorn Press; The Bookmark; P.E.I. Public Library Service; Dunes Studio, Gallery and Café and Peter Jansons; Alan Preston of Hearts and Flowers; Bernard Michaud, Penumbra Press; Making Words Matter – Lori Mayne; Peter Nishimura and Angela MacLaren; Sean and Wendy Wiebe; Orysia Dawydiak and David Sims; Dianne and Andy Morrow; John Smith; Michael Conway; Jock Murray and Janet Pottie Murray; Pat and Malcolm Murray; Judy Gaudet & David Helwig; Renée Blanchette; Steven Mayoff; Ruth Mischler Howatt; Yvette Doucette; Ken Fornetran, Ian Thoms, Isaac Williams, musicians; Joy Tremblay, graphic designer, Anne Furlong; and our anonymous community donor.

The PEI Writers’ Guild also thanks the folks who participated in solidifying the 2015 Awards: MCs Karen Mair and Lee Ellen Pottie; Judges: Laurie Brinklow, Michelle Butler-Hallett, Valerie Compton, Allan Cooper, Benton Hartley, and Allyson Trainor; volunteers, and all those who submitted their work or contributed their time and effort to the 28th Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards.