26th Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards features new gala

CHARLOTTETOWN — The P.E.I. Writers’ Guild will celebrate the best in Island writing with a new awards gala and celebration of student writing at the 26th annual Cox & Palmer Island Literary Awards.

This year’s awards will take place Saturday, October 19, at The Guild in Charlottetown and will include a ceremony for the student categories at 2 p.m. and an adult awards gala at 7 p.m.

At the afternoon celebration of student writing, writer and educator Lee Ellen Pottie will emcee the presentation of the Rotary Club of  Charlottetown Royalty Creative Writing Awards for Young People. The afternoon  will feature readings by first place winners, musical entertainment by  children’s author Deirdre Kessler, and a juice and candy bar.

Riel Nason
Riel Nason

Karen Mair from CBC’s Mainstreet will host the evening awards  gala. The ceremony will feature a special guest reading by Riel Nason, the New Brunswick author who won the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize for Canada and  Europe, the 2012 Margaret and John Savage First Book Award and the 2013 Frye Academy Award for her first novel, The Town That Drowned. The gala will also feature a special reading by P.E.I.’s own poet laureate Dianne Hicks Morrow, readings by first place winners, musical entertainment by Justin Simard and Todd MacLean, and a cash bar.

The gala awards presentations include the L.M. Montgomery* P.E.I. Literature for Children Awards, Maritime Electric Short Story Awards, Clary Pottie Creative Non-Fiction Awards, Milton Acorn Poetry Awards, Joseph Sherman Award, and the Award for Distinguished Contribution to the Literary Arts on Prince Edward Island – along with several other special honours.

Each year, the P.E.I. Writers’ Guild hosts the awards to encourage P.E.I.’s up-and-coming writers. Cash prizes are generously donated by businesses and organizations in the community.

We are pleased to have Cox & Palmer as our event sponsor, and we are also grateful for the support of The Heirs of L.M. Montgomery*, the Milton Acorn family, Maritime Electric, Clary Pottie family, the Rotary Club of Charlottetown Royalty, award sponsors and many other generous sponsors. Review our prize sponsors by visiting our sponsorship page.

For more information, e-mail [email protected].